The SCP and Me

I’ve been watching a video series on Youtube where a guy is playing a game called SCP: Containment Breach.  It’s a horror game with only one objective:  Get out of the creepy and abandoned-looking government facility.  Wait, I forgot, there’s another objective:  Survive.

See, hidden around this facility are monstrosities from your darkest nightmares.  A freaky statue that moves when you blink and snaps your neck if it gets close, a tall, dark figure that transports you to a pocket dimension, and a coffin that makes you worst fears come to life are just a few of the things within this place.  All these things have somehow gotten out of their cells and you have to get out of there as soon as possible.

The game is based on a “fake government agency” that’s by now famous all around the net.  I like to call it Area 51 if the internet made it.  The agency is supposed to hold some of the scariest and freakiest items and beings from around the world.  From my understanding, people came up with ideas for really scary things and submitted fake documents to this wiki until they reached 1000.  The sole purpose of this website?  To give you nightmares.

I don’t know how the whole SCP (which, if you didn’t visit the link above, stands for Secure, Contain, Protect) thing got started, but this idea fascinates me.  For centuries, people have been telling each other ghost stories with the intent to scare.   Vampires, werewolves, succubi, Big Foot, all these kinds of legends have built up over the decades because people love to scare one another.  I, for one, have never seen it done like this before.

The myth of Area 51 has been circulating for years, but in my opinion SCP takes it a step further.  These aren’t just aliens, these are nightmare creatures.  The stories written on this website are some of the most creative scary stories I’ve ever heard.  If someone were to put all these things into a book or story of some sort, I would totally read or watch it.  I won’t play the game, though.  No way.  Games are way too immersive and I will probably crap myself playing that game.

Thinking about it, this entire thing sounds to me like the facility in Cabin in the Woods. (Major spoilers for that movie coming right up!)  In Cabin in the Woods, we see an underground facility that seems to be government run that has gathered around all the scariest and most dangerous monsters from around the world.  SCP seems to be the same thing, except they don’t intend to sacrifice people to appease some gods.

The fact is, a lot of the ideas within the SCP website are terrifying.  Last night, after marathoning the video series I mentioned before, I found myself lying awake in bed staring at the ceiling.  Because I was scared.  I was scared of dreaming about those things.  That’s a reaction that I haven’t felt in a while:  so scared of something that I’m afraid to dream about it.  And that is a good thing.

As a friend of mine once said, isn’t it fun to be a little scared sometimes?  This website is the embodiment of that sentiment.  People, ordinary people, decided to get together and make an entire website to scare the crap out of the world.  I respect and admire them for their feat.  If you’re in the mood to read a few scary stories, I highly suggest going to their website and browsing around.  They’ll have exactly what you need.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to [REDACTED] and I’m gonna [DATA EXPUNGED].

Leave a Reply

