Flicking Through Netflix: Trigun Episode 1 (The $$60,000,000,000 Man)

The lack of a post yesterday was not indicative of either me forgetting about my wonderful blog, having too busy of a day, or just plain writers block.  I didn’t write a blog post yesterday because I was doing research most of the day for a Top 20 list in the works.  I was hoping to have the first part of that list out yesterday, but this is a big challenge I’ve given myself.  It’ll come out soon.  To make up for yesterday’s lack of a post, I will be doing another blog later today of a movie from Netflix.  In the meantime, onward with this article!

Anime and I have had a fickle relationship since I was a kid.  I used to watch Pokemon, Digimon, and Yu-Gi-Oh all the time.  Judging from the similarities between those three shows, I was of the thought that all Anime was the same.  It wasn’t until about a year ago that my eyes were opened to the world of Anime.  I’ve seen some good Anime.  I’ve seen some terrible Anime.  I’ve seen horrible Animes that I enjoy and great Animes that I just can’t force myself to like.  All that said, I decided to see what all the fuss was about for today’s pick.  It’s Trigun.

The show follows two women named Meryl and Milly, two insurance investigators assigned to search for Vash the Stampede.  Vash is supposedly a very dangerous man that causes destruction to a town just by passing through.  He’s a man with a very high price on his head and people everywhere want a shot at the cash.  Who is Vash, really?  I believe that is one of the many mysteries on this show.

From a story standpoint, I can only say that this show is okay in the first episode.  I understand that the character of Vash is supposed to be shrouded in mystery at this point.  But we have no less than 3 fake outs on exactly who the character is supposed to be.  In fact, I’m still confused.  Is the character depicted above supposed to be Vash or is he just an unlucky guy who was given the name?  I do have the feeling that the story is going to get a lot better, but as of now I think the first episode wasn’t that great with story.

Characters, on the other hand, are a very strong point in this show.  While I don’t know much about the guy in the above picture, I love his comedic timing.  As a character, he is hilarious and at the same time a bit of a badass.  Meryl and Milly were also very funny and enjoyable whenever they were on screen as well.  They have this good partner chemistry going for them so far.  The villains, for what we saw of them, were also a lot of fun in this episode, being loud, bombastic, and over the top violent.  All the character interactions were very fun to watch.

The animation of this show was another high point for me.  It felt very grungy, very crisp.  All the colors had an almost washed out feeling, which fit right in with the “Western” like setting they’ve set up.  During the funny moments, everything felt rubbery and cartoony to fit the mood.  In the serious parts, things took a much harsher look that kept everything looking solid.  It’s one of the more detailed looking Animes I’ve seen and it certainly looks fantastic for the world they made.

As a beginning of a show, this episode has certainly gotten me interested.  While the story may have it’s flaws right now, I just get this sense that it’s going to pick up quickly and take me for a wild ride.  If you’re an Anime fan, I’d say this is a must try.  I’m certainly going to continue watching.  I just hope all the good vibrations I’m getting from this show don’t end up being a big heap of disappointment by the end.

Leave a Reply

