Introduction to My Top 20 Favorite Online Series

Online shows are my new TV.  Well, in a sense.  For the past few years, I’ve spent about 80% of my free time online.  There’s just so much to do and explore on on the internet.  Not the least of which is the Online Video Series.  There are hundreds upon hundreds of creative video series out there.  From the simple review series to the video game Let’s Plays to original fictional series to parodies, there’s no end in sight to the amount of variety that can be found online.

Because so much of the entertainment I consume is Online nowadays, I decided to give a spotlight to some of my favorite online shows and producers. I must watch at least 50 different “shows” online.  I would usually limit myself to picking just my top 10 favorite series, but I just can’t limit myself with this list.  I had to stretch it to Top 20.  As such, this “mini-series” of articles is going to be split into 3 parts.  The first part, the part you are currently reading, is going to lay my ground rules and list a few “runners up” that would be on my list if it was more than Top 20 or if I didn’t have my rules in place.

Alright, let’s get right into…

MY RULES AND CONDITIONS FOR MY TOP 20 FAVORITE ONLINE SERIES

RULE 1:  The series must be completely original, aka made specifically for online audiences.  Nothing that was taken from TV and put online is allowed on the list.  Nor are any online extensions of TV shows allowed on the list.  As an example, if you’re a fan of Doctor Who, you probably know that they sometimes upload web exclusive previews and prologues to upcoming episodes.  If you didn’t know that and would like to check those out, either buy the DVDs or check BBC’s Youtube Page.  These videos, while great fun to watch, are TV show extensions and therefore are not allowed on this list.

RULE 2:  This might go without saying, but the only way the show will get on this list is if I’ve heard of them and watched them myself.  I only say this to preemptively respond to any comments saying “why isn’t this on there” or “you idiot, you should have mentioned that.”  This is my blog, so this is MY list.  MY favorites.  However, I’m always looking for new things to watch.  If you have a different favorite, if you’d simply like to make a suggestion, please feel free to comment!

RULE 3:  I have a few friends who make online shows and they are fantastic.  However, I felt like the only way I could avoid being biased was if I banned them from my list all together.  That being said, I do think my friends have some quality work and I urge you to check them out if you haven’t.  They are listed directly bellow.

Chris’s Comic Showcase is a review show about comics.  In Chris’s own words, it is “specifically looking at Marvel Comics and their good and bad comics over the years. Mostly good ones.”  It’s a show that I, unfortunately, haven’t paid a whole lot of attention to.  But what I HAVE seen is really fun and I suggest it to any comic fans.  I’ll definitely need to check out more of what he’s got.

Shea Koshan’s Spoilerrific is another comic review show.  You can read all about the series, including answers to FAQs here.  She also occasionally has some plot elements on her show, usually regarding her transdemensional sisters.  Confused?  Just watch the show.  It’s well worth your time.

High Fiction is/was a review show by a guy I know as Rabbi.  In each video, he reviews a book that he either holds dear to his heart or hates with a passion.  I’ve read a few of the books he’s recommended and the man has impeccable taste.  Sadly, the show is on indefinite hiatus for the time being.  He is simply a very busy man.  Still, the show is fantastic.  And I don’t just say that because I cameo in a few of the episodes.

Music Freak is a series made by Anthony Ragusa.  In each episode, he usually talks about music artists.  I’ll admit, it’s been quite a while since I’ve seen this series.  It’s been on a hiatus for a while now, but I hear rumors that it may make a come back sooner than you think.

RULE 4:  No more than 1 video series is allowed on this list per video producer.  People like Doug Walker have more than one series that they do regularly.  While I do enjoy multiple works from the same person or group, I have to limit this list to one per customer or good producers aren’t going to get a fair chance.

RULE 5:  In terms of content of the videos, anything goes.  This list will include review shows, Let’s Players, story driven shows, and anything in between.  I must give fair warning, not all of the videos I list are kid friendly.  There’s a fair bit of swearing in the things I like and some videos may contain violence.  Viewer discretion is advised.

Alright, now that I’ve laid out all the ground rules, I think it’s time to list some real runners up to this list.  Please bare in mind, just because they’re not officially on this list doesn’t mean they aren’t fantastic shows and series.  I just had to limit myself to 20.  Still, I feel these shows deserve at least a mention.

Atop the Fourth Wall is yet another comic review show by a really cool guy named Lewis Lovhaug.  He focuses on the worst of comics, things that never deserved to see the light of day.  His show also has a heavy focus on story elements, with the show’s main character, Linkara, facing off against foes of various strengths and sizes.  Two reasons why this isn’t on the official list.  1)  I’m not a big comic fan and most of what Linkara talks about are titles that I have never heard of or don’t particularly care about.  2)  The official list itself will contain my recommendations on where to start with each series.  And I can’t think of a place to start for AT4W.  So much hinges on plot elements that you would be lost if you start watching from the middle.  I just have to recommend that you watch from the beginning.  His beginnings are humble, but he is a very entertaining reviewer to watch.

The Vlogbrothers, Hank and John Green, is basically a Youtube channel about… Well, anything that comes to their minds.  They make videos about jokes, life, love, relationships, traveling, anything at all.  I really do love the Vlogbrothers and recommend them to anyone.  Their videos are often inspiring and more often funny.  They have a lot of life lessons to teach and they are not above learning a few as well.  (Quick shout out to all my fellow Nerdfighters out there.  DFTBA)  I found I couldn’t put these guys on my list because they just don’t fit in with the crowd.  Not that that’s a bad thing at all.  But their videos are so different from the rest of my list that I think including them would just throw off the flow.

Gritty Reboots is a fairly new series that my girlfriend introduced me to.  Basically, the series takes shows, books, and anything childish and nostalgic from the 80s and 90s and gives them a dark, “serious” reboot.  The series is basically fan trailers parodying some popular things from the past.  I didn’t include this series officially simply because it’s a bit too new.  Still, I do think that they are awesome and can’t wait to see what they come up with next.

That’s it for this little introduction to the list.  Tomorrow, I will post numbers 20-11 and the next day will be my Top 10.  I hope you enjoy reading the list as much as I will making it.  I highly encourage you to check out the ones I have mentioned so far and the ones I will mention in the coming days.  If you have any predictions about my favorites or if you’d just like to talk about some of yours, please share in the comments.  I’m really curious about any video series out there.  In the meantime, I’ll see you in the next part.

2 thoughts on “Introduction to My Top 20 Favorite Online Series

  1. Pingback: My Top 20 Favorite Online Series Numbers 20 to 11 | Richard's Weekly Journal

  2. Pingback: My Top 10 Favorite Online Series | Richard's Weekly Journal

Leave a Reply

