The Way Forward

And with this post, I put an end to my little experiment that I called May Days, or Blog-A-Day May.  (The title is fairly self-explanatory.)  I have been basically using the blogs this month to test the waters.  I was putting my thoughts out there, trying out article series ideas, basically letting myself do whatever I wanted and seeing how it felt.  Honestly, it felt great.  I haven’t had this much fun writing in a very long time.  There’s just something about letting my thoughts out, be they about movies, books, TV shows, even personal thoughts, that I find therapeutic in a way.  On that note, I do think I over did myself a bit trying to do a blog every single day.  As is apparent, there were just some days where I didn’t know what to say or didn’t have enough time because of other obligations.  So, while I’ll continue blogging, a blog every day just isn’t going to work.

That being said, I did call this my Weekly Journal for a reason.  Instead of doing a blog daily, I would like to make something new for this blog at least weekly.  I may even do two or three blogs in one week if I’m feeling up to it.  See, my problem is, if I don’t give this blog a thought at least once a week, I’ll forget all about it and it will slip into obscurity.  I really don’t want that to happen.  So I make the solemn oath to, from this point forward, make at least one blog a week.  For the next month or so, I may limit it to just one per week.  I want to get a good, real start on making videos again and I’m really excited to do it.  To do that, I need to focus on writing the scripts instead of the blogs.  But I will definitely still be blogging every week.

This probably goes without saying as about 90%of my posts this month were reviews, but I want my main focus of this blog to be entertainment.  I love reviewing and, at times, I have quite a lot to say about shows and such.  If I feel the need to, I’ll probably use the blog as a venting point, like I’ve done in the past.  But the main focus will be on entertainment.  With that said, I want to take a moment to talk about which article series I will continue and which ones I think have got to go.

Flicking Through Netflix:  Definitely staying.  I’m having far too much fun doing that series to just drop it.  In fact, I may have follow up articles to the “first episode of a TV series” portion of this series.  These articles will talk about what I think about the show over all after having watched all of it (or at least as much as I could) through Netflix.  I may call it Follow-Up Through Netflix.

Reviews:  Also still continuing.  I’m a reviewer through and through and I just have to share my reviews with the world.

Top 10:  While difficult to write (because I find it near impossible to pick my Top 10 favorite of anything), I still have fun making these lists.  So while it might be a little more difficult, I’ll continue to write Top 10 lists.  I may even write some Top 10 negative lists, focusing on things I hate.  After all, it’s fun to rage against bad things every now and then.

Scare Factor:  Personally, after just a single article of this series, I don’t think I want to continue it.  The problem is, I don’t know enough about human psychology and the study of fears to really explain why I think certain things are scary.  Honestly, I believe that the Scare Factor article is the worst article I’ve written for this blog so far.  I’m still proud of it, I think it’s a solid piece of writing.  But I’m just not good at explaining things like this.  So I’m just going to let the Scare Factor die with one episode.

In short, I’m still having major fun with this blog and can’t wait to continue writing for it in the future.  Be sure to look forward to new videos from me and Laura coming out as soon as we’re able.  Articles will now slow down from daily to weekly.  This also means I can get back to “real” Tweets instead of spamming my Twitter followers with “new blog” posts every day.  Anyway, that’s all I have to say for now!  This is Richard, aka Daffy, saying see ya next post!

Leave a Reply

