Prince Edward Island: Introduction and Backstory

You may all be wondering where I have been the past few weeks.  Well, if you haven’t been paying attention, I’ve been visiting my girlfriend, Laura, for the past few weeks.  We’ve been having a lot of fun on my vacation, enjoying each others’ company, buying each other stuff, and other usual couple stuff.  Being in a long distance relationship, we don’t get to do a lot of those things together very often.  Because of this very pleasant distraction, I haven’t really had my blog on my mind.  Still, I don’t want to let 3 whole weeks go by without a single word from me.  On that note, I have quite a few things to say regarding a little trip I recently took while on this vacation.  Before I get into that, though, I need to give you a bit of backstory about myself and my wonderful woman.

At most, Laura and I get to see each other twice a year.  This is because of the distance, the cost of plane tickets and accommodations, time being short due to college/her having a job, etc.  Anyway, whenever Laura comes down to visit me, I am usually on Winter break.  As such, I always tried to think of new things to take her to each time she came down.  The first time she came down, it was really simple: an afternoon at Miami beach.  Each time I tried to give her something new: A trip to Disney (where she always wanted to go), a drive to MegaCon in Orlando (for her first convention trip ever), a cruising vacation for a few days, etc.  Laura, feeling very appreciative of all the trips I gave her, wanted to return the favor.  So, after some careful deliberation, she decided to take me on a trip to one of her old childhood vacation spots, a place I had never been:  Prince Edward Island.

Being an American that lives in Miami (about as far away from PEI as you can get on the East Coast), I had never really heard all that much about PEI.  Sure, I was aware of its existence but that’s about it.  As such, in the days leading up to my arrival to the Great White North, Laura would talk it up as much as possible.  She told me about all the things she had planned for us to do while on our stay in this famous Canadian island.  And I was excited as hell.  Since this little mini-vacation was smack dab in the middle of my 3 week vacation, I’ve decided that I’m going to do a 5 part blog (including this one, so this would be 1 of 5).  Why 5 parts?  Well, this one is introducing the concept and giving some background information.  And the rest of the blogs will be talking about each separate day I was there.  So, sit back, relax, and let me tell you about PEI.  A place loaded with cows, beaches, and little red-headed girls with pig tails…

Part 2.

2 thoughts on “Prince Edward Island: Introduction and Backstory

  1. Pingback: Prince Edward Island: Day 1 or Shopping, Ripley’s, and Mini Golf | Richard's Weekly Journal

  2. Pingback: Prince Edward Island: Day 2 or The Girl With Imagination and Bright Red Hair | Richard's Weekly Journal

Leave a Reply

