Return of the Revenge of the Haunted Drive-In!

I have had one hell of a week.  Family issues, school issues, and my 13-year-old car that I’ve only had for a year decided to up and die on me at a crucial moment.  Despite my vehicle and personal issues, I refuse to let a week go by without a post.  Luckily, something’s come up recently that’s been on my mind all day.  Something has returned from the dead, risen from the grave.  Something out there from my past lurks in the darkness, waiting to strike.  My friends and fellow fright fiends, the Haunted Drive-In is back in business!

For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, let me explain.  Back in March of 2011, my friend, Rabbi (also normally known as Michael Sandal), started a blogging endeavor.  Like me, Rabbi favors the strange and wonderful worlds of the horror and sci-fi genres.  So, to pursue a hobby that went hand in hand with his passions, he created the Haunted Drive-In!  (Why, yes, I AM going to make a link every time I mention THE HAUNTED DRIVE-IN.  Why do you ask?)  In his own words, here’s what the website is all about:  “Basically, we celebrate the scary, the silly, and the sublimely cheeesy.  We love monsters, ghosts, aliens, and serial killers.  We think you can have a fun time with a good movie or a really terrible one.  And we know we’re not alone.”  As he once put it to me, we want to recreate the feel of a drive-in that plays nothing but horror and sci-fi movies, the good and the shlock.

Needless to say, it immediately caught my attention.  After a few articles, specifically after one titled “Freaky Fun for Everyone,” I couldn’t get an idea out of my head.  I wanted desperately to write at least one article for his website revolving around Meanies.  So I messaged him asking if he was accepting article submissions and, after hearing about my interest, Rabbi decided that I wouldn’t just write one article.  I’d be a regular writer for his site.  I would be his writing partner!  And thus was the start of my first semi-independent blogging journey.  Unfortunately, that’s not the end of this part of the tale.

See, Rabbi had it in his head that the blog would have a new article every day.  And that seemed to work.  For a while.  Then things started happening and life got in the way.  What started out as a fun hobby started becoming another thing on the to-do list.  I can attest to the fact that blogging every day and keeping it fresh is hard work.  So, for a whole mess of reasons for both Rabbi and myself, the Drive-In slowly petered out.  Between May and November of 2011, there were very few posts and after a single post in that November, the Drive-In went dark.  No new posts were put up for almost the next to years.  That is, right up until last month.

Unbeknownst to me, Rabbi was planning for the Drive-In to make a come back.  Recently, he’s been posting articles, sprucing the place up, cleaning the cobwebs, burying the corpses of past patrons.  In short, Rabbi wants to get the band back together.  Well, our little band of two, but still.  And I’m happy to oblige.

Without the Drive-In, I fully believe that I wouldn’t have had the notion or the knowledge to start Richard’s Weekly Journal.  When I started writing the Drive-In, I realized that I didn’t just have to blog on a single site where thousands of other people blog (that being TGWTG.com).  I can write just as easily on an independent blog.  So, to the Haunted Drive-In, to Rabbi, I thank you for showing me what I can really do when I put my mind to it.  Now for an IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT.

I have vowed to start writing for the Drive-In on a regular bases.  As such, I think I might have to split my focus between this blog and that one.  I’m still going to write for this blog and I will be making content weekly, just not for THIS specific blog every week.  In short, I will basically be going back and forth, writing for this blog one week and the Drive-In the next, then back to this blog and so forth.  Please stick around, folks, and head on over to that horror website, where the monsters come out to play, the moon is always full, and ghosts and goblins are the norm.  I’m sure you’ll have a howling good time reading it all. I know I’m going to have fun writing for it again.

Leave a Reply

