Reader Beware: Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe

I don’t have many superhero comics in my collection.  This mostly has to do with something I just sort of don’t get:  comic book continuity.  As a result (and, really, just due to my tastes), the majority of my collection is made up of one particular genre:  Horror.  Still, I’ve been wanting to throw my hat into the comic book ring for some time as there are some characters that intrigue me.  Namely, Deadpool, one of the more famous of Marvel’s characters thanks to his zany nature and tendency to break the fourth wall.  Imagine my surprise when I came across a Deadpool comic that was billing itself as a horror comic.  This is Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe.

“What if everything you thought was funny about Deadpool was actually just disturbing? What if he decided to kill everyone and everything that makes up the Marvel Universe? What if he actually pulled it off? Would that be FUN for you? The Merc with a Mouth takes a turn for the twisted in a horror comic like no other!”  ~Amazon.com

When I first picked up this trade collection (yes, this is a trade that collects all 4 issues of this mini-series), I was equal parts excited and a bit weary.  Excited because, obviously, Deadpool and horror, two really awesome things.  Weary because, going into this, I only had a basic knowledge of Marvel and its Superheroes.  I was worried that my limited knowledge of the Marvel characters would somehow limit my enjoyment of the book.  I shouldn’t have been so worried.  The book spotlights a lot of well known Marvel characters (Spidey, Wolverine, and the like), but they aren’t the main focus of the book.  No, the main focus is, of course, Deadpool and the atrocities he commits in his madness.  And there-in lies the problem I have with this mini-series.

This comic isn’t really for people who don’t at least have a cursory knowledge of Marvel.  Deadpool, multiple times, merely has a panel or two with some big heroes where he is killing them and that will be all we get to see of them.  Even some of the bigger heroes of the book don’t get decent introductions.  Heck, there was one major character in the book, the longest lasting “hero” of the mini-series who was hired to stop Deadpool’s reign of terror, and I didn’t even know his name until I looked it up online.  The book doesn’t do much for newcomers to this universe and that does effect the book in a bad way.  Still, for what it’s worth, this is a decent comic for people who already know these characters.  It’s a really dark horror story, even with a few witty one-liners from the maddened Merc with a Mouth.  I really appreciated the book for its darkness.

The artwork of the book is appropriately gritty and not too overly cartoony.  Deadpool looks as threatening as ever as his design and character movement just feels a lot more sinister through the mini-series.  Fair warning for the faint of heart: This book is gory.  Every death you see has blood and guts galore.  The fight scenes we do get to see are pretty cool, even if they’re all fairly short.  The artwork simply works for the type of story this book was telling, making everything feel dark and horrific, just the way I like it.

As an introduction to all things Marvel, this book pretty much fails.  However, as a horror story for those who already know the Marvel universe, this book rocks.  It’s got a pretty twisted sense of humor (just like Deadpool), it’s the darkest that I’ve ever seen Marvel get, and it’s simply a lot of fun to read if you’re a horror fan like I am.  Ah, but this is only the first mini-series collection in what has been called the Deadpool Killogy.  There are 2 more mini-series to talk about.  Join me next time as Deadpool faces off against some of the most famous characters in literary history.

Leave a Reply

