Gym Leader Daffy: My Ultimate Gym

Update: If you’d like to read Laura’s fantasy gym, read all about it here!

Yes, I know.  I promised to continue reader beware month.  I don’t know why I haven’t felt motivated to do book reviews lately, but I just haven’t.  I apologize.  I’ll be going back to my normal blog rules (blogging about whatever I please) on my normal blog schedule (at least once a week) from now until I say different.  I just feel like talking about different things.  Such as today’s topic.

There was news today that Pokemon OmegaRuby and AlphaSapphire will be re-introducing the Secret Base function for Pokemon games.  This is honestly something I’ve never heard of, so I asked some friends of mine who are better versed in Pokemon lore.  They basically said that they’re places where you can basically set up a room of your very own.  In addition, the new games will have an added bonus:  People will now be able to make their own Pokemon Gyms!  This has me super excited and got me thinking:  If I was a Gym Leader for a Pokemon game, what would it be like?  What would its theme be?  What would be my type preference?  Well, this blog will be talking about exactly that!  I will list what I would set up as my ultimate Gym experience if I was a Pokemon Gym Leader!

https://i2.wp.com/static.tumblr.com/49c6b0aafda6a4610199f4c837e4c571/awpklol/5UDmi5xbo/tumblr_static_gym_leader_adventures.png

My Gym:  The main Pokemon Type of the Gym will be Ghost, with all the trainers having Ghost Pokemon.  The gym itself will be themed after a Haunted House Dark Ride.  The whole thing will be in the dark except for the car, shaped like a pumpkin, and the track.

Gym Puzzle: The gym will be sort of a maze in the dark and the player must often choose between two paths at every junction.  One path leads to a harmless jump scare, such as a jack-in-the-box, a jack-o-lantern lighting up, or a fake skeleton falling down.  The other path leads to a trainer which the player would be forced to battle.

My Gym Leader Dialogue: “Isn’t it fun to be a little scared?  That’s our philosophy around here.  Although my Pokemon are weak to Dark type, I train them in the dark to help them conquer their fears.  Battle me, if you have the courage!”

Once defeated:  “Truly, you and your Pokemon are brave souls!  You have earned the ECTO BADGE.” (The Badge itself is shaped like a jack-o-lantern with green glowing eyes and mouth.)  “You have also earned this.” (I would give them TM65.) “TM65 is Shadow Claw.  Slash at your enemies with a claw made of shadows!  Your journey ahead is long, but you have proven your courage!”

My Pokemon:  My team would consist of Gourgeist, Doublade, Froslass, Mismagius, and Haunter.  Haunter would be the toughest of the bunch, simply because I like him the most out of all of them.

My appearance:  My sprite would look classy, wearing a white tuxedo with a green vest.  It would also have a white top hat with a green band.

Yes, I am a huge dork/nerd/geek.  I don’t care.  I really had fun thinking up my ideal gym.  Of course, I will probably never get to make anything this elaborate in a Pokemon game.  Still, it was nice thinking up something that I could call my own.  If you would like to share, I would love to hear what your ideal Pokemon Gym would be like!  Please let me know in the comments.  See you next time!

One thought on “Gym Leader Daffy: My Ultimate Gym

  1. Pingback: My Fantasy Pokemon Gym | Laura's Honest Ramblings

Leave a Reply

