It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year (For Me)

I know, I know.  I haven’t been around for a month.  Apologies, I’ve been preoccupied with a few things.  Let’s call the last month an unannounced vacation on my part.  I’ll try to do better from now on but that may become a bit harder.  The reason for that will become apparent in a moment.

As a general announcement before I get to the good stuff, I am now unofficially officially unofficially writing for my school’s newspaper under a section they call Sharkastic Reviews.  Why the confusion with the unofficial/official stuff? Well, I was told that they like my style for their reviews and was even offered my own website spinoff.  However, my contact/the editor in chief gets really busy and takes a while to get back to me on stuff.  I understand the business and I’m not mad about it.  I’m just eager to start doing something for an official website… You know, outside of the Haunted Drive-In.

Speaking of old haunts,  the Drive-In is once again joining the Countdown to Halloween this year.  Rabbi has a few tricks up his sleeve about blogs he’s doing for the month.  I myself have something special planned.  What is it?  You’ll just have to wait and see.  Unless the blog titled “I Have a Question for You This October” is up on that website right now in which case, go and give that a read to find out.

For THIS blog, however, well…  I HAD an idea for a specific month-long celebration of Halloween but I sort of just fell out of love with it.  It would have been called The Greatest Show Unearthed and I would have reviewed horror and suspense books that just so happened to be set in carnivals and amusement parks.  However, the first two books I read for this just outright sucked and the whole idea left a bad taste in my mouth.  I may still review those two books as they are still horror related.  However, I’m more in the mood to spread my focus this month.

You see, I love everything about Halloween.  I love the decorations, the movies, the costumes (though the ones for women are WAY too sexual nowadays).  I’ve said it before, I’ll keep saying it, Halloween is my favorite holiday ever.  And, this year, I’m feeling more like I should give the holiday it’s fair due.  I don’t want to just talk about books.  Even as a guy who loves to read, talking about books ALL the time is BORING.

Instead, I plan to talk about… Well. Anything I want!  In celebration of my favorite holiday, I plan to do a multitude of blogs on a multitude of topics all hovering around things that are appropriate for this awesome holiday!  I can’t promise a blog every single day, but I WILL promise at least more than 1 blog every week throughout the month of October.  You can expect movie reviews, book reviews, top 10 lists and editorials all month long.  I hope you all enjoy reading it as much as I will writing it.

Leave a Reply

