Halloween Specials Week: Summerween (Gravity Falls)

Here’s yet another blog in my Halloween Specials Week.  When are you too old for Halloween? Never, is what I say.  If it was socially acceptable, I’d still be going out for Trick-or-Treating even at 23.  But society does play a big factor in this.  Eventually, everyone thinks you’re too old to collect candy.  Today’s episode revolves around one character thinking he’s crossed that age line at 12.  It’s the Summerween episode of Gravity Falls. https://i2.wp.com/img3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20121021064107/gravityfalls/images/6/61/S1e12_summerween_trickster_at_door.png The town of Gravity Falls loves Halloween so much that they celebrate it twice a year:  Once at the normal time and once in June.  (My kind of town!)  Dipper and Mabel love Halloween as well and, being twins, always get their costumes to match to get more candy.  Dipper, however, has been invited to a party and tries to weasel his way out of trick-or-treating.  Unfortunately, his plans are foiled when the Summerween Trickster forces Dipper, Mabel, and their friends to feed him 500 pieces of candy by the end of the night.  Can they do it or will the Trickster soon be feasting on them instead?

Gravity Falls is rather new to me and it’s quickly becoming one of my favorite shows ever.  It’s got everything that I love in a kid’s show:  Creative visuals, original stories, and it never once talks down to its audience.  It’s also pretty funny, having a lot of jokes that adults can enjoy as well.  See, I don’t really see this as a kid’s show. I see it as a show that’s good for all ages.  That’s probably the best compliment I can give it.

One of my favorite parts about this show are the clever supernatural monsters and beings that the characters come across.  All of them are really interesting in both backstory and design.  The Summerween Trickster, seen in the picture above, is no different.  He reminds me of a cross between the Slenderman and No Face from Spirited Away.  He’s got a really disturbing way of walking and talking that just sends shivers down my spine.

Dipper, on the other hand, was probably my least favorite part of the episode.  Quite frankly, he acts like a selfish jerk throughout most of the episode.  He becomes completely dismissive of his sister’s feelings as he’s in pursuit of a girl he likes.  I wouldn’t mind so much except it seems like Dipper constantly has to relearn the same lesson all the time with this show:  Stop being selfish and act your age.  It gets a little tedious if your main character has to keep learning the same lesson over and over again.

The rest of the characters, though, are in top form this episode.  Mabel is energetic, random and loveable.  Soos is a bumbling idiot but in a (mostly) funny way.  (Though the thing with him being obsessed with a skull decoration got kind of annoying.)  Grunkle Stan’s embracing of the Halloween spirit and trying to scare away two trick-or-treaters was a riot even if the pay off to that side-story wasn’t that interesting.

Ultimately, I would say I’m a little disappointed with this episode.  While it is very creative with it’s monster and what it wants, Dipper acts like too much of a jerk for me to enjoy it too much.  I’ve been told that perhaps I was building up this episode too much in my mind as it involves both a show I’ve grown to love and my favorite holiday.  I’d say that I have to agree with that.  There’s no way the show was going to be able to pay off what I had built up.

I would still recommend both this episode and the entire series in general.  It’s fun, it’s creative, and it’s mysterious.  What more could you ask for in a show about the supernatural?  Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I need to talk to a lawyer about Halloween in June copyright infringement…

(No, not really.)

Leave a Reply

