Wondertrading: An Addiction

I have an addiction.  I think I actually have a lot of addictions:  Reading, movies, TV shows.  Nothing life threatening, mind you, but definitely addictions.  But one particular addiction has been on my mind lately.  The Pokemon games have a feature now called Wondertrading. And I am highly, HIGHLY addicted to it.

https://s3.amazonaws.com/colorslive/jpg_512x512/1627699-JgiQol203ONTST_Y.jpg

Picture taken from here.

If you want to know how Wondertrade works, DON’T.  Turn back now!  It’ll ruin your life!  All that you’ll want to do is keep Wondertrading until all your work is piling up and your life is nothing but one big waiting game!  FLEE WHILE YOU STILL CAN!

But if you really need to know, here’s how it goes.  You get one of the latest Pokemon games (anything after and including X and Y), you connect the game to the internet, then you locate the Wondertrade button in the game.  You then pick a Pokemon you’ve caught that you don’t want anymore.  Let’s say you caught a lame Zigzagoon.

https://i0.wp.com/cdn.bulbagarden.net/upload/thumb/4/47/263Zigzagoon.png/250px-263Zigzagoon.png

This derpy looking little guy right here.

So, you select that Pokemon to send out, you select “Trade” and you wait.  Eventually, you’ll get connected to some random person around the world (like from Japan or Norway or even sometimes within your own country).  And they will send you a Pokemon they don’t want.  Like, say, a Wurmple.

https://i0.wp.com/img.pokemondb.net/artwork/wurmple.jpg

Those eyes have seen beyond eternity. He is dead inside.

Tada! You’ve just traded one worthless Pokemon for another!  And that’s the jist of it, you keep trading your unwanted Pokemon and getting a random other one in return.

You may be wondering “Well, then, why is it addicting?  If people are just using it to trade away their worthless Pokemon, wouldn’t people be avoiding it?”  Here’s the thing.  Sometimes, people are EXTREMELY generous in their wondertrading.  Sometimes, you get a really cool Pokemon that may not be easy to find.  Sometimes, they send out Legendary Pokemon you may not be able to get in your game.  Sometimes, they even give out Shiny Pokemon (which are incredibly rare types of Pokemon).

So, you go into Wondertrading a few times and maybe you get lucky and you get a shiny or a legendary.  So you think to yourself, “Gee, maybe I can get lucky again.”  And you keep trying and trying, receiving hundreds of Wurmples, THOUSANDS of Zigzagoons, and a handful of Pokemon you actually want until all you’re thinking about is the next trade and the next AND THE NEXT AND YOU’VE FORGOTTEN TO EAT BUT WHAT IF I GET UP TO GO TO THE BATHROOM BUT THE NEXT POKEMON I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN WAS A SHINY AND OH LOOK ANOTHER FRIGGING WURMPLE BUT MAYBE THE NEXT ONE WILL…

…And that’s my problem.  I keep wanting to try in case the next thing I get is super cool.  Hell, through Wondertrade, I’ve gotten Legendaries, Shiny Legendaries, and lots of other cool Pokemon.  I’m addicted.  I’ve even gotten to the point where Wondertrading helps me sleep.  Seriously, last night, I couldn’t get to sleep because I wasn’t tired.  But I started basically counting Pokemon instead of counting sheep and hearing the Wondertrade music in my head and it lulled me to sleep.

I’m sad to say that I’m one of those people who sends out a lot of trashy Pokemon in order to get the cool ones.  But I don’t mind.  If people didn’t expect trashy stuff in return for their cool stuff, they would do direct trading through the Global Trading System (but that’s a whole other story).

Obviously, I’m over emphasizing to be funny.  I’m not really ADDICTED to it.  I just like using the Wondertrade system to my advantage.  It really is convenient and cool to use.  Personally, I’m using it to try to fill out my Pokedex in the game and also to occasionally hunt for Shinies/Legendaries.  (I recommend Wondertrading around 8 pm on Wednesdays, aka Wondertrade Wendesdays, ’cause people give out a lot of cool stuff.)  I’ll keep using it for a while, or at least until I get bored with it.  But if I see another dang Zigzagoon, I’m going to lose my mind.

One thought on “Wondertrading: An Addiction

  1. This is a great story. Email me (Pokemonel2013@gmail.com) I would love to have you write a few articles on my website. Pokemonel.com

Leave a Reply

