Split Focus

So, this particular post is going to be a mixed bag. First, we’ll start off with some quick-fire reviews of stuff I’ve been wanting to talk about recently, then I’ll talk about why I’ve been so sporadic with posts this year. Alright, quick-fire reviews!

Gravity Falls: Legend of the Gnome Gemulets (Game): If you like the show, you’ll like the writing and artwork for this game. However, the gameplay is repetitive, boring, and not all that great. I’d give it 4 out of 10. Slightly below average.

The Screaming Staircase by Jonathon Shroud: A book with a great idea and a wonderful world but I just couldn’t get into it. The plot took forever, the atmosphere just didn’t work, and the main character was a gigantic BORE. Give it a miss.

The Martian by Andy Weir: I wanted to read the book before I saw the movie and yes, yes, YES. This is a fantastic read. Great suspense, a fantastically dark sense of humor, likable characters. A bit heavy on techno-babble, but I can get past that. I can’t recommend it enough.

The Peanuts Movie: Great movie, exactly like the beloved specials of old. Watch it. Watch it NOW.

ALRIGHT, that’s enough about other stuff. Let’s talk about me.

This year has been really all about transitions for me. I have finished with school, which means I’ve taken my first real steps into becoming a responsible adult. Meaning, I’ve found an actual job now. A job that actually pays me. Actual MONEY. No more unpaid slave internships for me! The main reason I haven’t blogged so much this year is because I’ve had to try to find a job. And, now that I have one, my free time is even more limited.

Unfortunately, this means I have to learn how to split my focus. Now, don’t get me wrong, I still love writing. However, I’m pursuing new ventures with my new video series the Spook Factor! (Laura talked about it on her blog recently!) Here’s the YouTube channel where I’ll be posting all future things! You can subscribe watch it there early or catch new videos when I post them on this blog. NEW VIDEO COMING VERY SOON!

Anyway, what that means for you is that, because I want this new show to be as absolutely great as Laura and I can possibly make it, I will have less time to write a “weekly” journal. So, for a while, updates are going to be slow… Meaning, about the same as I’ve been since January. Sorry about that. But I’m really happy with how the Spook Factor is coming out and I’m really excited about my new, video making future!

TL;DR: Life got in the way of writing this year and life will continue to get in the way for foreseeable future. But don’t worry, I still have plenty of cool stuff to share with you. Stick around, things are about to get a whole lot more fun.

Leave a Reply

