Another Creative Outlet

So, I’ve been in a writing slump lately. I get this way sometimes with periods where I have hardly any confidence in the stuff I write. Highs and lows. Blah blah, you get it. It’s why I haven’t made the next Spook Factor yet. I’ve also been stuck on what to blog about. I’ve been obsessed with Undertale lately and I DO want to talk about it. However, again, writing slump. As such, I have been looking for another creative outlet. Thus, I come to what I have been up to lately: Fan art.

My absolute favorite thing about Undertale is its character design. I simply love how each of the characters look and move. The art aspects of the game are simply fantastic. As such, as soon as I was finished watching Undertale (I watched JackSepticEye play it as I am not a PC gamer), I started looking up fan art for the game. I’ve found so many amazing pieces of fan art for it. But, once I started looking at the fan art for Undertale, I also decided “Why not look up other things I like?” Thus, I have spent many hours for the past few days looking at fan-made art for Danny Phantom, Steven Universe, Darkwing Duck, and a whole mess of other things.

Looking at all this art has honestly got me missing my drawing days. When I was younger, I loved to draw. I even asked my 8th grade social studies teacher if I could make a comic book instead of an essay paper once. (She actually let me and I got an A for creativity!) I drew all the time. I even created my own Lilo and Stitch the Series experiments. I even wanted to be an animator at one point. However, over the years, I sort of left drawing behind. I thought I was much better at writing. (I still think that, despite my slumps.)

Even still, I’ve gotten back in the drawing mood. As such, I’ve started a few small projects on the drawing front. I am currently in the process of turning myself and my fiancee, Laura, into Crystal Gem like characters from Steven Universe. Our “Gemsonas” if you want the official terminology, but I for one HATE the word.  I’m also planning out a Hexafusion Graph with Bill Cipher from Gravity Falls, Flowey from Undertale, and Cthulu. I’m just in a really big drawing mood and I want to ride this high while it lasts.

I’m going to try my hardest not to let my drawing interfere with my writing. I’m still working on episode 2 of the Spook Factor. I’m also still planning on blogging. I may even post my drawings onto my blog if I feel like it or if you guys ask me to. The bottom line is that I want to try drawing again. I don’t want to make a career from it or become a professional artist or anything, but I still think drawing is a fun hobby. I’m looking forward to my future creations and I can’t wait to share them with all of you.

Leave a Reply

