Halloween Horror Nights’ New Icon!

I am a huge fan of Halloween Horror Nights… At least, I’m a huge fan of the designs, the ideas, and most of all, the stories they make. (I’m far too much of a coward to actually attend one of the events myself. Maybe some day, but not too soon.) You may think a Halloween event doesn’t really need a story. You just need the scares, right? Well, my friend. What is a scare without a story? And what is a story without a main character? This is why, every year, I wait impatiently for the announcement of the central icon for Halloween Horror Nights, the event’s icon for the year. After 4 years revisiting the same old haunts, we finally have a new, fresh and bloody face. And this time, you don’t stand a chance!

That’s right, friends, it’s Chance’s turn at the bat! Though, I guess I was lying a bit when I said this was a “new” face. Technically, we’ve seen her before. She was Jack the Clown’s protege/helper for a few of his show’s last year. However, now she’s the main focus of the show, becoming this year’s Ring Master of the Macabre! If you’re getting Harley Quinn vibes here, so did I. But trust me, Chance isn’t the doting, crazy girlfriend. She runs the show now. Besides, Jack WISHES he had a chance with her. (HA! Get it?)

From the research I’ve been able to do, I’ve gathered up some really interesting information on this year’s horror host. First of all, she seems to be our first non-supernatural entity in a while. In the past 9 years, all icons were freakish monsters or ghosts of their formal selves. Chance is just human and, because of this, the show runners have decided to give her story a bit of a spin. Namely, we are apparently going to focus on the nature of her duality.

After the events of last year’s Carnival of Carnage, Chance was arrested and put into an Asylum. She is apparently sharing a cell with the box that holds her former boss. As such, she’s decided to retreat into the confines of her brain. After all, the show must go on! Based on interviews and reveals, Chance’s central maze is going to have a double focus. One reality will take place in Chance’s asylum home as we watch what horrors she and everyone around her commits. The other reality will take place in Chance’s “theater of the mind” where the scares are as psychotic as she is and the imagination has no limits.

Personally, I’m really looking forward to finding out more about this woman. She’s certainly got an interesting concept. The whole “duality of the mind” thing has me thinking up a lot of “Two-Face” scenarios for her Maze and Area. I’m sure those awesome folks behind the scenes are working up one mother of a maze for her. Will I personally attend this year? No. Coward, remember? But I’ll at least be able to watch some stuff on YouTube. It’s not the same, but at least I’ll get to look at the awesome environments. And hey, at least they’ve finally put Jack back in his box. I was getting a bit tired of that clown. This is they’re chance (HA! I DID IT AGAIN!) to impress me once more.

Leave a Reply

