Crypt-ober: Hyde and Go Shriek (Tales from the Cryptkeeper)

I hate bullies. When I was a kid, I was called every name in the book and it left a psychological scar on me that took years to get over. Heck, I’m still feeling the effects today. Bullies are jerks. So, I find it rather fitting that today’s tale tells us a story about a bully that gets a rather beastly comeuppance. Not only that, but it also happens to involve my favorite type of monster. Can this cartoon give me a good werewolf story? Let’s find out. This is Hyde and Go Shriek.

Image result for Hyde and Go Shriek (Tales from the Cryptkeeper)

Wendel has a bit of a bully problem. He tries to take it in stride, but a big guy named Rex keeps pushing him around. Wendel tries to work out to get some muscle, but it doesn’t work out so well. One of the other kids suggests using a special tea that they find at a local shop. Unfortunately, this tea might have some monstrous side effects.

I really liked the story for this episode. It involved a very creative mix of the Jekyll and Hyde story of old and that well known monster, the werewolf. Everything felt well paced as the bully’s bullying got more and more violent until Wendel couldn’t take it anymore and went over the edge. I fully sympathized with Wendel and I even started worrying about what would happen to Rex, the main bully, toward the end. Luckily, everything comes to an extremely satisfying conclusion.

The characters of this episode are pretty well done as well. The voice acting was pretty spot on, even if Rex sometimes sounded like a 15 year old cigarette smoker. Wendel is almost too nice to a fault, but I really understood why he felt pushed to the limit after a fashion. However, the characters aren’t without their problems. Rex is needlessly cruel for absolutely no reason. Wendel even tries to be friendly with him and never rats him out, but Rex just keeps wanting to bully him. I know this was a karmic retribution episode, but it just rubbed me the wrong way that Rex was just a generic bully. Still, watching him get what he deserved felt very good and the twist toward the end was also pretty well done.

CRYPTIE CAMEO: Cryptie’s face can be found on the protein potion the kids find at the store. Oh, and as this is a season 1 episode, the Witch and the Vaultkeeper hadn’t come up yet.

HORROR HOMAGE: Wendel’s pet rat is named Dr. Jekyll. Cute reference considering the source material for the story.

I definitely recommend this episode to anyone who likes werewolves. Not only is it well written, it’s also darn well animated. Wendel’s creature design looked really cool and even kinda lanky to match Wendel’s naturally skinny physique. This is one of the better Cryptkeeper episodes I’ve seen so far. I can hardly wait to see what other werewolfy stories this show has to offer. If they’re anything like this one, I’m sure they’ll have quite the bite.

Leave a Reply

