Thankful

So, I kinda missed the mark on today’s post. Sorry, but was busy on the actual American Thanksgiving Day, so I didn’t really have time to make up a big ‘ol post.

Also, I’ve been meaning to blog about the current political climate in the area ever since the results of the election came in. But you know what? Fuck it. Politics honestly scare me and I’d rather just use my blog for lighter fair. So, let’s do something a bit more “Nice.”

The whole point of Thanks giving is, well, to give thanks. So, as I’ve never really done that on my blog before, I figured this year is as good a year as any. Let’s get some of the obvious stuff out of the way first. I’m thankful for my health, even though I’m in need of some diet and exercise. I’m thankful for my job, which gives me new and interesting challenges every day. I’m thankful for my success so far as a professional and a person. And, of course, I’m thankful for all the things I have that I was able to buy for myself.

And now, let’s talk people.

First, I’m thankful for my mother, a strong and positive influence in my life. I learn something new from her every day. She’s the strongest person I know. Her confidence in her work and her ability to work through any problems that come her way is an inspiration. She may worry a bit too much, but her worry makes her a great mother. She is the reason I’m such a well rounded person today.

Of course, I’m also thankful for my father. I don’t see my father nearly as often as I should. Our relationship has had hardships, but I’d like to think that we’re still a good team. His laid-back attitude is always refreshing. We don’t see eye to eye on some things, but we always have great conversations. I always know I can count on him when I’m in a jam.

I’m thankful for my sister. She’s another person with whom I’ve had a few spats over the years. But I know we both love each other dearly. My sister is very protective of me and I’m honestly grateful for that. She always does her best to keep her family happy. She’s had a few hardships in her life, but I hope she knows I’ll always try to help her.

I’m thankful for my online friends, who gave me a lot of company during years I didn’t have much of a social life. A lot of friends have come and gone, but a few have stuck around. To those of you who I talk to all the time, you know who you are. There are just far too many to name in one small blog.

I’m thankful for my “real life” friends, too (particularly Anthony, Lee Ann, Harmony, and Ashley). They have been true, close friends to me for the last few years. I’m so happy to see them every week for a game night or Taco Tuesday or even both every week. I can really, truly be myself around them and they accept that. I can be a goof sometimes, but I know I can trust them to reign me in. My friends really matter to me and, even though I live a little far, I know I can always count on them just like they can count on me. Thank you, friends, for all the joy you’ve given me.

And, last but certainly not least, I’m thankful for my fiancée, Laura. God, there’s so much I’m thankful for with her. I’m thankful that she’s with me, that she loves me, that I love her. I’m thankful for her laugh, her smile, her annoyed moans at my stupid jokes. I’m thankful for the company she gives me in the quiet moments of the day. I’m thankful for the dorky times we’ve had at conventions and theme parks. I’m thankful for her honesty when I’ve been stupid, her support when I’m doing something new and scary, her cheers when I’m succeeding, her shoulder to cry on when I’m down. I’m thankful for all the support and care that I can give her. I’m extremely thankful that we’ve started the process of getting her down to the US more permanently. I’m so thankful that I’ll soon get to call her my wife. I’m thankful for her not only as a lover and a friend but as a person. She’s not perfect, but perfect is boring. I love everything about her, even the things she would find embarrassing. I’m proud to call her not only my fiancée but also my dearest friend.

I know I got a bit mushy at the end there, but screw it, it’s my blog. Oh, and I forgot to mention. I’m thankful to all of my readers, too. Sure, I don’t have a dedicated following or many comments, but I still like knowing there are people who are willing to read this blog. So, I hope your holiday season is filled with cheer and happiness. Merry merry, guys and gals!

Leave a Reply

