New Year, New Promises

I’m tired of breaking promises. Not to you, my readers. I’m tired of breaking promises to myself. “Oh, I’ll do a blog every day in October. Oops, didn’t do that. Oh, I know, I’ll make a Christmas related blog for 12 days in a row. Nope, I’m already sick of Christmas.” Screw it. I’m done with that. Consider this blog the one that I declare my resolutions for the year. Not physical “Lose weight” type resolutions. I’m making resolutions for my creative side, which has been stagnating for a while. This blog will outline my plans for my creative output for the whole year.

https://static.vecteezy.com/system/resources/previews/000/106/443/original/vector-shiny-blue-happy-new-year-2017-card.jpg

Since I started the Spook Factor in October of 2015, I have only released 2 “official” episodes and 2 “special” episodes. Four videos in two years. This is unacceptable. Now, I’m not going to break a record here. I still have a day job and the videos are still only a hobby. HOWEVER. I promise to myself and to you that I will release a minimum of 5 videos this year. Again, that doesn’t sound like a lot, but I just want to set a goal I KNOW I can achieve. Five videos in one year means I have about 2 and a half months per video. I think that’s a reasonable amount of time, don’t you? If I get out more than 5, all the better. But, my promise is 5 videos at minimum.

Promise 2: I promise to make one blog per week. This is called my WEEKLY journal for a reason and, dammit, I’m going to fulfill that promise. Now, I think my problem is the lack of a deadline. Ergo, here’s my compromise. I will write a new blog once a week every week by Friday at 3. The blogs will be reviews/random thoughts/life experiences/editorials/whatever’s on my mind. This is set in stone and I won’t let myself forget it. The only way I will allow myself to forget this promise is if I’m sick or some other emergency comes up that keeps me away from my computer.

Promise 3: I have a secret project I’ve been working on. It’s a tabletop card game that revolves around monsters and such. I haven’t touched it since August. My promise to myself is to develop a working prototype by the end of the year. Not a complete game, not a kickstarter, just a working prototype. I think I can do that.

There. Three promises to myself. Three projects to keep my creative juices flowing this year. I’m actually kind of excited. Who knows? Maybe I can actually get even more done than I am planning on. If I can motivate myself, I’ll try to do the most I possibly can. It’s a brand new year, folks, and while the future is always uncertain, I’m going to try to be the best me I can be… Wow, that sounded like a greeting card at the end. Whatever, I still believe in it.

Leave a Reply

