Here’s to the Future! (Happy Birthday, Laura!)

As many of you might now, February 14th is not just Valentine’s Day. It is also my fiancée, Laura‘s, birthday! Today, she is 29 years old. Now, I would normally make some “all-in-good-fun” jabs at her, or I would write some mushy note specifically for her. But instead, I thought I’d do something different. We hope to be married this year (if the stupid “travel ban” stuff doesn’t effect our immigration plans, at least) and I want to talk about what I think married life will be like.

Now, obviously, we’ll probably go through a “honeymoon” phase where we’ll be all over each other. We’ll be so relieved and so happy that our time apart has finally come to an end. Everything will feel surreal, I think. Like it’s all a dream. Or maybe like that long time away from each other was a dream. I imagine we’ll have a lot of physical moments we don’t get often. Holding hands, leaning against each other, hugging, soft caresses, and all that dirty stuff too. We’ll pay attention to those moments because we’ve had too few of them over our time together so far.

I imagine our affection for each other will never fully go away. We’ll always be tender and gentle in little ways, helping each other even when the other doesn’t notice. I think, perhaps, our affection will change a little, though not much. We’ll always cherish our physical moments because of how our relationship officially started.

There will be hard times. We’ve never lived together, so we’re going to have to figure that out. We’ve never had financial problems together, so that will be stressful. Still, we will work through every struggle. We will fight for our relationship no matter what. We will remain loyal and strong for each other for however long we can.

We’ll always be kids at heart. I’m sure of it. We’re gonna watch cartoons and Disney movies well into our 80s and 90s. We’re going to play video games until we physically can’t anymore. We’ll go to Disney every year at least once per year. All that said, we’ll never have kids other than animals and both of us are happy with that.

When we’re old and fat(ter) and gray, we’ll still love each other. We’ll work at it day after day. We’ll be so comfortable with each other that doing things together will be second nature. And we’ll think fondly on our past, on our struggles, our long distance start, our ups and downs, and we’ll smile and laugh and hug.

This is just a long and convoluted way of saying I LOVE YOU, LAURA. We have a long, bright future ahead of us and I can’t wait to share it with you.  We’re going to be one of the best married couples in our lives. I can already feel it. Happy birthday and Happy Valentine’s Day to you, my love.

Leave a Reply

